1. Home
  2. NEWS
  3. Towns named unanimous NBA rookie of year
Towns named unanimous NBA rookie of year

Towns named unanimous NBA rookie of year


Four others have received unanimous honor

In the biggest NBA news to come out of Minnesota since the Lynx won the WNBA championship, Timberwolves center Karl-Anthony Towns was named the unanimous winner of the NBA Rookie of the Year award.

The league made the announcement today, giving the Wolves back-to-back honorees after forward Andrew Wiggins took the honor last season.

The 7-foot Towns received all 130 first-place votes from a panel of sports writers and broadcasters.

Only four others were unanimous winners: Damian Lillard (2013), Blake Griffin (2011), David Robinson (1990) and Ralph Sampson (1984).

New York’s Kristaps Porzingis finished second in voting this season, while Denver center Nikola Jokic was third.

The first pick in the 2015 draft, Towns ranked eighth in the NBA in rebounds and field-goal percentage. He was one of only six players to start all 82 games.

As for the 2015 WNBA Champion Lynx, they opened their season Friday in front of a sellout crowd of 9,221 at the Target Center, taking down 2014 WNBA champion Phoenix, 95-76.

A sellout for a Timberwolves game is 19,356.

Public Inspection File FCC EEO Public File Report - Employment Opportunities at Our Stations