1. Home
  2. NEWS
  3. HIGH
  5. Caledonia’s King finalist for Minnesota Mr. Football
Caledonia’s King finalist for Minnesota Mr. Football

Caledonia’s King finalist for Minnesota Mr. Football


As the Caledonia High School football team looks for its fifth consecutive state championship and undefeated season — with a nation’s best win streak of 67 game, so far — quarterback Noah King has been named a finalist for the state’s Mister Football award.

Ten players were announced as finalists yesterday by the Minnesota Football Coaches Association.

King, a senior, has thrown for 2,084 yards this season with 34 touchdowns and just three interceptions. His completion rate is 61.2 percent (133-for-217).

The top-ranked Warriors play at 1 p.m. Nov. 29 in the Class 2A title game at U.S. Bank Stadium, against third-ranked Minneapolis North (12-0).

Last week, Caledonia beat No. 2-ranked Barnesville 43-12. The Warriors are 9-0 since 2007 in the state championship.

The last time Caledonia lost a state title was 2005, when former Tennessee Titan Karl Klug was playing defensive end and running back for the Warriors

Caledonia lost that game 21-7 to Eden Valley-Watkins.

The Mr. Football Award is sponsored by the Minnesota Football Coaches Association and the Minnesota Vikings. It started in 2004.

The banquet will be on Dec. 8 at the Doubletree Hilton Park Place Hotel, in St. Louis Park, Minn. Tickets cost $17.50.

(In alphabetical order)
Name, school, position(s)
Aidan Bouman, Buffalo, QB
Jonathan Kieren, St. Anthony Village, RB/LB
Noah King, Caledonia, QB/S, Southeast-White
TK Marshall, Minneapolis Southwest, RB/OLB 
RaJa Nelson, Lakeville North, QB/RB/R/DB
Jordan Sagedahl, BOLD, QB/SS
Abraham Stoesz, Mountain Lake Area, WR/DB/K/P
Jalen Suggs SMB, Wolfpack, QB
Aaron Witt, Winona, DE/TE
Hunter Zenzen, Barnesville, DE/LB/TE

Previous winners

2018 – Jason Williamson, Owatonna
2017 – Antonio Montero, Eden Prairie
2016 – Wade Sullivan, Lakeville North
2015 – J.D. Spielman, Eden Prairie
2014 – Robbie Grimsley, Hutchinson
2013 – Jeffrey Jones, Minneapolis Washburn
2012 – Bridgeport Tusler, Osseo
2011 – Philip Nelson, Mankato West
2010 – Peter Westerhaus, Holy Family Catholic
2009 – Zach Vraa, Rosemount
2008 – Varmah Sonie, Apple Valley
2007 – Michael Floyd, Cretin-Derham Hall
2006 – Blake Sorensen, Eden Prairie
2005 – Matt Carufel, Cretin-Derham Hall
2004 – Nick Mertens, East Grand Forks

Facebook Comments

Public Inspection File FCC EEO Public File Report - Employment Opportunities at Our Stations