fbpx
Home NEWS NFL PACKERS Packers Training Camp Capsule
Packers Training Camp Capsule

Packers Training Camp Capsule

0
0

GREEN BAY PACKERS (6-9-1)

OPEN CAMP: July 25, Green Bay, Wisconsin.

SCHEDULE:

Thursday, July 25 – 10:15 a.m.
Friday, July 26 – 10:15 a.m.
Saturday, July 27 – 10:15 a.m.
Sunday, July 28 – 10:15 a.m.
Tuesday, July 30 – 10:15 a.m.
Wednesday, July 31 – 10:15 a.m.
Thursday, August 1 – 10:15 a.m.
Friday, August 2 – 7:30 p.m. – Family Night
Sunday, August 4 – 10:15 a.m.
Monday, August 5 – Time TBD – Joint practice with the Houston Texans
Tuesday, August 6 – Time TBD – Joint practice with the Houston Texans
Thursday, August 8 – Preseason Game – Packers vs. Texans – 7 p.m.
Saturday, August 10 – 10:15 a.m.
Sunday, August 11 – 10:15 a.m.
Tuesday, August 13 – 10:15 a.m.
Thursday, August 15 – Preseason Game – Packers at Ravens – 6:30 p.m.
Sunday, August 18 – 10:15 a.m.
Monday, August 19 – 10:15 a.m.
Tuesday, August 20 – No Public Practice
Thursday, August 22 – Preseason Game – Packers at Raiders – 7 p.m. (at IG Field in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada)
Sunday, August 25 – No Public Practice
Monday, August 26 – No Public Practice
Tuesday, August 27 – No Public Practice
Thursday, August 29 – Preseason Game – Packers vs. Chiefs – 7 p.m.

LAST YEAR: Packers’ 2018 campaign was defined by friction between star quarterback and embattled coach. Mike McCarthy was fired after loss to lowly Arizona dropped Green Bay to 4-7-1. Packers split final four games and finished with worst record in more than decade. Aaron Rodgers threw only two interceptions and compiled second-most passing yards in 11 years as starter. But his 25 touchdown passes were fewest of career when he’s played all 16 games. That total was due in part to WR Randall Cobb, now with Dallas, being sidelined for large part of season with hamstring injury.

IMPORTANT ADDITIONS: Coach Matt LaFleur, offensive coordinator Nathaniel Hackett, quarterbacks coach Luke Getsy, offensive line coach Adam Stenavich, OL Billy Turner, OLBs Za’Darius Smith, Preston Smith and Rashan Gary, Ss Adrian Amos and Darnell Savage, CB Ka’dar Holloman, RB Dexter Williams.

IMPORTANT LOSSES: McCarthy, Cobb, OLB Clay Matthews, FB John Kuhn, LB Nick Perry.

CAMP NEEDS: Packers need ambitious LaFleur and headstrong Rodgers to build bond within LaFleur’s offense. Green Bay also needs Gary to show why he was 12th overall pick and develop into force to form premium pass-rush personnel package with Za’Darius Smith and Preston Smith.

EXPECTATIONS: As long as Rodgers is healthy and under center, expectations for Green Bay will be high. But height of those expectations for this season depends on how well Rodgers and LaFleur jell. Packers have missed playoffs in each of last two seasons. Last time they were postseason spectators for three straight years, Rodgers was in diapers.


More AP NFL: https://apnews.com/NFL and https://twitter.com/AP_NFL

Facebook Comments

Public Inspection File FCC EEO Public File Report - Employment Opportunities at Our Stations